THE Lost Letter

 

A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heart-breaking, heart-warming read for fans of The NightingaleLilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.

“Cantor has done her research thoroughly to produce another captivating historical novel. Excellent writing, unusual storytelling, and sympathetic characters make a winning combination."
— Kirkus Reviews
“[A] tender, ravishing story that illuminates the sacrifices of a generation on an achingly human scale. A deeply enthralling, deeply satisfying historical love story."
— Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers and The Wicked City
 
 
 

BUY IT

Available June 13, 2017


DESCRIPTION

Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself.

Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.
 
A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.

 
 

 

PRESS & PRAISE

“Moving seamlessly between Austria in 1938 and Los Angeles in 1989, this novel connects a grim history to a more hopeful present… Cantor has done her research thoroughly to produce another captivating historical novel. Excellent writing, unusual storytelling, and sympathetic characters make a winning combination." 
— Kirkus Reviews

“Cantor enhances the familiarity of the novel’s structure and plotting through polished prose and a credible rendering of the painful process of losing a loved one to dementia. Themes of renewal after adversity and regaining what has been lost reverberate through both the character relationships and the fall of the Berlin Wall. This gives the novel a hopeful, poignant conclusion, guaranteeing appeal for fans of women’s fiction as well as historical fiction”
— Booklist

“Full of heartbreak and tragedy, this novel about love lost and found and the importance of memories, is ultimately uplifting and would be a great choice for readers who enjoy stories set during World War II."
Library Journal

“Cantor (The Hours Count) integrates her historical research well and effectively harnesses the story’s emotional resonance, slowly building tension before resolving the mystery and converging the two story lines. "
Publishers Weekly

“With beautifully drawn characters and historical details, The Lost Letter is a tender, ravishing story that illuminates the sacrifices of a generation on an achingly human scale. A deeply enthralling, deeply satisfying historical love story.”
— Beatriz WilliamsNew York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers and The Wicked City

“A vivid and original book which spans World War II Austria to modern day Los Angeles.  In this unforgettable tale of memories, love and reconciliation, Cantor writes with an absorbing voice and keen eye for detail that caught me up in the sweep of history.” 
— Pam JenoffNew York Times bestselling author of The Kommandant’s Girl

“Past and present collide in Jillian Cantor’s latest propulsive and eloquent gem of a novel. Cantor captures the gravity of wartime Europe and combines it with powerful stories of love, loss and self-discovery. The Lost Letter is transporting; its flawless, breathtaking finale will make readers fall deeply in love with this stunning tale.” 
— Mary KubicaNew York Times bestselling author of Don't You Cry and The Good Girl

 

 

FOREIGN EDITIONS & OTHER FORMATS

 

Coming Soon: Large Print, Italian, Czech, Slovak, Lithuanian, Polish, Danish, Hebrew, German, French

 

MORE BOOKS BY JILLIAN CANTOR